

MEETING MINUTES

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MEETING

DAKOTA COUNTY SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT

Thursday, April 20, 2022

5:30 p.m.

4100 220th Street W, Suite 102 Farmington, Minnesota

Board Members Present: Laura Zanmiller, Chair Kevin Chamberlain, Vice Chair Jayne Hager Dee, Treasurer Chelsea Skog, Secretary Bruce Johnson, Information Officer

SWCD Staff Present:

Brian Watson

Lana Rotty

Others Present:

1. Call to Order and Roll Call

Chair Zanmiller called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

2. Pledge of Allegiance

Chair Zanmiller led the Board of Supervisors in the Pledge of Allegiance.

3. Audience

Chair Zanmiller asked if there was anyone in the audience that wished to address the Board on an item that is not on the agenda. Nobody came forward.

4. Approval of Agenda

22.140 Motion by Dee, second by Johnson to approve the agenda. All members voting in favor. Motion carried.

5. Adopt Dakota County Board Resolution Regarding Redistricting Plan for the Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation Board

Watson distributed a copy of a April 19, 2022 Dakota County Board resolution regarding the redistricting plan for the Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District Board. This County Board resolution adopted the recommendation that was provided to them via a resolution adopted on April 14, 2022.

Watson indicated that the Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources (BWSR) is requesting that soil and water conservation district Boards adopt County Board resolution regarding redistricting plans and submit the resolution to their office for signature and then obtain the signature of the County Auditor. The fully executed resolution then is sent to BWSR, County Auditor and Minnesota Secretary of State.

Watson presented the following draft resolution for discussion:

Adopt Dakota County Board Resolution Regarding Redistricting Plan for the Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District Board

WHEREAS, the Dakota County Board of Commissioners is required under Minn. Stat. 103C.311 Subdivision 1 to determine the number of supervisor districts to be contained within the Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District; and

WHERAS, by Dakota County Board of Commissioner Resolution No. 22-138 (March 22, 2022) County Board of Commissioners noticed its intent to adopt a Redistricting Plan for the Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District, pursuant to Minn. Stat. 375.025, at its regularly scheduled meeting on April 19, 2022, in the Boardroom, Administration Center, Hastings, Minnesota; and

WHEREAS, the Notice of Intent to Redistrict was published in the newspaper contracted to publish County Board of Commissioner meeting proceedings (Dakota County Tribune) for three consecutive weeks on March 25, April 1 and 8 of 2022, and posted on the Dakota County website; and

WHEREAS, three redistricting options were posted on the Dakota County redistricting webpage on April 12, 2022; and

WHEREAS, a public hearing was held by the Dakota County Board of Commissioners on April 19, 2022 for the purpose of receiving comments and informing the public of the Redistricting Plan for the Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors hereby adopts the Dakota County Board of Commissioners Redistricting Plan for the Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Dakota County Board of Commissioners, after consulting with the Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District Board, adopted the following Redistricting Plan for the Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District at their meeting on April 19, 2022, under Dakota County Board of Commissioner Resolution No. 22-162:

SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT 1

<u>Townships</u> Douglas Township, Precinct 1 Hampton Township, Precinct 1 Marshan Township, Precinct 1 Nininger Township, Precinct 1 Randolph Township, Precinct 1 Vermillion Township, Precinct 1

<u>Cities</u> Apple Valley, Precincts 6, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15 Coates, Precinct 1 Hampton, Precinct 1 Hastings, Ward 1 – Precinct 1 and 2 Hastings, Ward 2 – Precinct 2 and 3 Hastings, Ward 3 – Precincts 1 and 2 Hastings, Ward 4 – Precincts 1 and 2 Lakeville, Precincts 16 and 18 Miesville, Precinct 1 New Trier, Precinct 1 Randolph, Precinct 1 Rosemount, Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 Vermillion, Precinct 1

SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT 2

Cities

Inver Grove Heights, Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 Lilydale, Precinct 1 Mendota, Precincts 1 Mendota Heights, Precinct 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 South St. Paul, Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 Sunfish Lake, Precinct 1 West St. Paul, Ward 1 – Precinct 1 and 2 West St. Paul, Ward 2 – Precinct 1 and 2 West St. Paul, Ward 3 – Precinct 1 and 2

SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT 3

<u>Cities</u> Apple Valley, Precincts 5, 7, 8, 9 and 10 Eagan, Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 and 18

SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT 4

<u>Cities</u> Apple Valley, Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 16 Burnsville, Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 and 17 Lakeville, Precincts 11 and 12

SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT 5

<u>Townships</u> Castle Rock Township, Precinct 1 Empire Township, Precinct 1 Eureka Township, Precinct 1 Greenvale Township, Precinct 1 Sciota Township, Precinct 1 Waterford Township, Precinct 1 <u>Cities</u> Farmington, Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 Lakeville, Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15, and 17 Northfield, Ward 3 – Precinct 2

;and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that pursuant to Minn. Stat. 103C.311 and Dakota County Board Resolution No. 22-162 elections are required to be held in 2022 for Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 due to population shifts of more than five percent in those districts; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that pursuant to Minn. Stat. 103C.311 and County Board Resolution No. 22-162 the members of Soil and Water Conservation District Board to be elected in 2022 in District 4 and 5 shall be elected to four-year terms; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that pursuant to Minn. Stat. 103C.311 and County Board Resolution No. 22-162 the members of the Soil and Water Conservation District Board to be elected in 2022 in District 1, 2 and 3 shall be elected for two-year terms.

STATE OF MINNESOTA

Dakota County Soil & Water Conservation District

YES	NO
Chamberlain	Chamberlain
Zanmiller	Zanmiller
Skog	Skog
Johnson	Johnson
Dee	Dee

I, Chelsea Skog, Secretary of the Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District, do hereby certify that the above resolution relating to the redistricting of the elected Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors was adopted by the said District Supervisors at a meeting held on April 20, 2022, and that I have compared the above copy with the original resolution as set forth in the minutes of said meeting, and it is a true and correct copy of and transcript from said original and the whole thereof. I further certify that said meeting of the Board was duly called and held, that a quorum of members of said Board was present thereat, and that said resolutions was duly adopted

Signed:_____

Secretary

Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District Board

22.141 Motion by Chamberlain, second by Johnson to adopt the Dakota County Board Resolution Regarding Redistricting Plan for the Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District Board elections as presented. Members voting in favor: Chamberlain, Zanmiller, Skog, Johnson, Dee. Motion carried.

6. Adjourn

22.142 Motion by Dee, second by Johnson to adjourn the meeting. All members voting in favor. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:52 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Chelsea Skog Secretary